What are my goals for the year?

At our school, all teachers choose 2 goals to work on.  It used to be that we would choose to improve writing in our classroom or to better parent/school communication.

Now in the age of data, all our goals have to be Smart Goals with something that can be measured.  I have done that and now I would like to talk about my other goals that can’t always be measured.

I want my classroom to be a happy place.  Where kids go home and say they had a fun day.

I want to practice slow teaching!  I want to take everyday a bit slower than the past few years.  I don’t want to rush students. I feel like I am always saying hurry, we need to be done.

I want parents to appreciate everything that is done in our class.  Just an email or a quick note to tell me that you liked the activity that was brought home or the present their child worked for so long on is really cute.

That’s it, not too strenuous or out of line.

Leave a Reply

